Smiiiiiiiile!

Over Christmas I reorganised the home pages on my iPhone to put all the child friendly apps in one place, I also downloaded a few new ones to try and promptly forgot I’d done any of it.
Now that she’s a proficient sideswiper, I let Babi1.0 play with the phone in the mornings while I’m changing Babi2.0’s nappy or grabbing an extra 5 minutes in bed. She can easily navigate to ‘her page’ and find something to explore. This happens 2 or 3 times a week and other than keeping half an eye to check she’s not discovered any hidden in-app purchases I’ve pretty much left her to it.

About a fortnight ago she started asking if she could play ‘spider skinny blocks’. Umm what’s that!? Turns out it’s a Toca Boca building game. I asked her to show me how it works and then sat pretty gobsmacked as she demonstrated a fairly complex series of maneuvers and built a pink and purple wall. Later I had a look at what she’d been up to and found 5 other levels she’d been working on. Thumbs up again to Toca Boca for that one.

Feeling fairly proud of my girl I started scrolling through my photos, only they weren’t all my photos. Interspersed throughout my snaps of the two Babis playing and my baking exploits I find a series of 30 pictures of my bottom taken at toddler height another 20 or so of dolls, and a few cushions. The photos are taken on different days, it’s something she’s apparently been doing for about a month now. This isn’t something I’ve taught her directly, she has seen it done and worked it out for herself. They are deliberate attempts to take pictures and some of the results are lovely.

20140124-085822.jpg

20140124-090037.jpg

Leave a Reply

